Jan 28, 2022

FEMA Assistance Available for Tennessee Tornado Survivors

Assistance is available for those affected by the Jan 2021 tornadoes.

Nashville, Tenn – President Biden declared a major federal disaster declaration on Jan. 14 for the deadly tornado outbreak that took place on December 10 and 11, 2021. Homeowners and renters in 12 counties affected by severe storms, straight-line winds and tornadoes may now apply for FEMA disaster assistance. These designated counties include Cheatham, Davidson, Dickson, Gibson, Henderson, Henry, Lake, Obion, Stewart, Sumner, Weakley, and Wilson counties.

Tennessee Severe Storms (DR-4637-TN)

Those affected by the tornadoes can call FEMA at 800-621-3362 (TTY: 800-462-7585) to apply. The toll-free telephone lines operate from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. local time, seven days a week. If you use a relay service, such as video relay service (VRS), captioned telephone service or others, give FEMA the number for that service.

Residents can also register via smartphone or tablet using the FEMA App, or at www.disasterassistance.gov.

Disaster assistance may include financial help with temporary lodging and home repairs, along with other programs to assist those recovering from the tornadoes, such as replacement of personal property and medical expenses not covered by insurance.

For more information on Tennessee severe storms, visit Tennessee Severe Storms (DR-4637-TN) | FEMA.gov. Follow the FEMA Region 4 Twitter account at https://twitter.com/femaregion4.

FEMA Assistance Process

Be Aware of Scammers


FEMA’s mission is helping people before, during, and after disasters.